2015 Reading List

As per usual, one of my resolutions for 2015 is to read more. This time though, I’ve made a concrete goal of reading two books a month. This is pretty typical (if not low) for me, but often my reading is motivated by syllabi and essay assignments. Now that my English education is over, I don’t want to lose my reading stamina. Here are some of the books on my list.

PeoplePaper

1. Not That Kind of Girl. I’m actually reading this one right now. It’s so Lena Dunham, but I’m a fan.

2. Love in the Time of Cholera. I read some short stories by Garbiel García Márquez this semester and fell in love with his prose. I’m anxious to read one of his novels.

3. The Virgin Suicides. I love the movie (so dreamy and Sofia Coppola-esque) and happened upon the book at a book fair.

4. The Handmaid’s Tale. I attended a lecture by Margaret Atwood a few months ago and found myself sorely regretting not having read any of her work.

5. Yes, Please. A book by Amy Poehler? Yes, please! Linnea suggested I listen to the audio book (it would be my first one!), because it would be so amazing to listen to in Amy’s voice. I have to agree.

2D274905957270-YesPlease.blocks_desktop_medium

6. Fox 8. Ok, this isn’t a full-length book, but people have told me to read it so many times that it has to go on here.

7. The Bean Trees. I picked this up on my last trip to Powell’s in Portland.

8. Other Voices, Other Rooms. This one has been sitting on my shelf for quite a while. I’ve read a few of Capote’s novels (In Cold Blood, Summer Crossing), but this is his first, published novel and apparently quite a good one.

9. The People of Paper. This one was recommended to me, and I’m always a fan of stellar debut novels.

10. The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao. Again, I’ve been meaning to read Junot Diaz’s work for so long; it’s time I finally get around to it.

Well, this will at least get me through the first part of the year. What will you be reading in 2015?

Leave a Reply

