Weekend of Thanks

IMG_4369

There was so much to be thankful for last week. Here are a few of the things (and people) from Thanksgiving weekend that I’m particularly grateful for.

IMG_4212 IMG_4224 IMG_4299

1. The lovely women (and men, although they aren’t pictured here) in my family. These ladies are so kind and inspiring. I’m so glad Emily brought along her camera to dinner so we could take some pictures while everyone was together and looking sharp.

2. Pie. Dinner included both pumpkin and bourbon hazelnut. Enough said.

3. The approaching end of the semester. I suppose this one is bittersweet. I’m thankful for the fascinating classes I’ve taken, the projects I’ve worked on, and the fact that in a few days, it will all be over. It’s time for a break.

4. Good old-fashioned sleepovers and time with Kaylie. After dinner, I headed over to Kaylie’s house for some quality crafting and Christmas-party planning time. On Friday, we skipped the shopping madness but did – at a reasonable hour – go to Alternative Black Friday, a pop-up vintage market in downtown Phoenix. We stopped in at Urban Outfitters to see Rylee, grabbed some late breakfast at the Phoenix Public Market, and finally made it to Frances. I’ve been hearing about how lovely this store is for years, but only just got around to stopping in; it definitely lived up to the hype. I can’t wait to see this girl more when she comes home from Christmas in a few weeks.

5. Festive/fancy holiday outfits. Speaking of vintage, I was really excited to wear my new ’60s green dress to Thanksgiving dinner. It’s my latest vintage find and a little bit fancy, so it’s great for the holidays.

6. The great outdoors. After my shopping date with Kaylie, I drove up to Domenico’s parents’ cabin in Payson. His family and I spent the evening huddled around a fire, eating leftover stuffing, and playing Settlers of Catan. The next morning, we packed some leftover-Thanksgiving sandwiches (which are another thing to be thankful for entirely, but I’ll just slip them in here) and headed north to Jack’s Canyon. It’s a beautiful place. Some of the folks did a little climbing, but I spent the afternoon soaking up sun and catching up on my reading.

One thought on “Weekend of Thanks

Leave a Reply

