An Etsy Christmas

gift guide

It’s officially gift-buying and making season! I’m starting to get that crick in my wrist from knitting so furiously, and my list of to-makes and to-buys is growing. It’s one of my favorite times of year, and yes, part of that has to do with the gift-giving. No one wants to admit it, but for me at least, it’s true. I love hand-making people Christmas presents or hunting for the perfect item for someone. I don’t spend the third week of December tearing through the mall in search of something, anything to wrap up for someone. (Ok, maybe once or twice.) I do take pride in planning early and finding thoughtful, one-of-a-kind gifts.

As all the crafters out there know, it’s tough to make every single gift, especially when some of those gifts can take weeks to knit. So, when I need to purchase a present, I love the idea of supporting a fellow crafter. Etsy is a goldmine of handmade and unique gifts. They are still quite personal and are so much fun to give. Plus, these also happen to be the gifts I love to receive. This a little Etsy holiday gift guide of some of my personal favorites. Here’s to a handmade holiday!

1. This glamorous cactus bangle. This is such a classy little bracelet and one of those pieces of jewelry you could wear everyday. I know some desert-loving friends who would appreciate it.

2. A custom return address stamp. Here’s one for the couples!

il_570xN.464493448_e7ck

3. This personalized cutting board. This would make a super lovely gift for a couple. It’s like the adult version of carving your initials into a tree.

4. These woodland postcards. I’ve loved The Black Apple for a while, and this collection of little prints is so charming.

5. A Mendel’s brooch. What do I love more than Wes Anderson movies? Brooches! This would add a perfect touch of whimsy to an outfit.

il_570xN.507873993_1bd6

6. This watercolor print of Zooey Deschanel. How great would it be to hang this in the bathroom?

7. This equally rugged and adorable lunch bag. No more brown-bagging it!

il_570xN.241872644

8. Some illustrated tea towels. Ok, notice that these come from the same shop as the lunch bag? I guess this shop is so cute that it deserves two mentions. My favorite are these breakfast-themed ones (1 and 2).

9. A custom dog treat cookie cutter. It’s perfect for the dog-lover in your life.

10. This woodcut camp brooch. It just makes me yearn for summer. If you’re feeling a little more punchy, this shop has some great Parks and Recreation and Arrested Development ones.

11. These custom knitting labels. Yeah, I just really want these. I’ve actually been searching for something like this, and I love that these can be customized. I’m particularly into design #6.

il_570xN.615459876_ofie

12. This beautiful letterpress calendar. What better way to start the new year?

Leave a Reply

