A Well-Spent Sunday

e7f76bf48c02b844c879b63874ff2f2c

I’m hoping this is true, because the thought of waking up early for work tomorrow is daunting right now. I have had a pretty restful Sunday though. In fact, my whole weekend has been quite good. Friday after work, some of my fellow interns and I took in a baseball game at Chase Field. We won (and by we, I mean Arizona’s team, because come on, I don’t have much of a vested interest here) and were treated to a fireworks display. And then, like a real 20-something, I joined them for drinks. Yesterday, we celebrated Father’s Day since my dad just got back from Israel. The celebrations included a rousing game of Cards Against Humanity, dinner at The Breadfruit, and blueberry pie.

sunday sunday2 sunday3 sunday4 sunday5

But hopefully today will get me though the whole week. This morning over breakfast, Domenico and I devised a list of everything we want to do together this summer. I realize that the summer is almost halfway over, but I really don’t want to squander the second half. Some of the highlights from our list include getting waffles from Waffle Love, seeing a movie at the Pollack Theater and FilmBar, watching all the Star Wars movies (for the first time for me), visiting a really cool costume exhibit at the Phoenix Art Museum, taking a weekend trip to Tucson, and going on a night hike. We then took a little walk down to the neighborhood Goodwill. I hadn’t been thrifting in a while and I came across some good finds. My purchases: a vintage, knitted green sweater; a lacy maxi dress, and a straw cloche hat. I think this means I’m going to have to start wearing maxi dresses and hats.

Next, we went to The Street for some boba. I ordered a chai but my choice for next time will be the coconut taro milk smoothie. We wandered through the Asian market next door while we sipped our tea, and I picked up a few things to make veggie sushi this week. I spent the rest of the day doing grown-up Sunday chores like cleaning the house and doing the laundry before settling in with a few movies and and magazines. Bonus: I’m almost done knitting this seahorse, the third installment in my knitted sea creature series. More on that later.

Here’s to a content week!

One thought on “A Well-Spent Sunday

  1. Kaylie says:

    Sounds like the perfect Sunday! I hope I can crash some of those summer plans, because all of that sounds wonderful. I actually just went to Waffle Love this morning (it was at the Orange Patch) and it was pretty tasty!

Leave a Reply

