Sending Father’s Day Love from Arizona to Israel

309894_2273510650535_2111693140_n

Happy Father’s Day to all the rad dads in the world. I’m sending lots of love to Israel right now, where my dad is working for the next week. (This photo captures when we first met in the hospital.)

Although he’s not home to celebrate with us today, we do have a Father’s Day date lined up for next weekend; a hug and some foodie gifts are waiting for him. For now, here are some top reasons my dad is great.

1. He made me a wooden Barbie bed when I was little. Dad is pretty handy and crafty, and some of my favorite memories with him were when we worked on the wooden dollhouse I inherited from my grandpa. We spent hours gluing together tiny chairs and music stands or putting up Victorian wallpaper in one of the little rooms.

2. He got me a subscription to magazines like Harper’s, Bon Appetit, and Urban Farm. I love that my dad supports the kind of work that I hope to do someday. He’s had a subscription to Time magazine since he was a teenager and reads everything from Reddit to The Atlantic.

3. He loves movies as much as I do. He also always has good movie snacks like almonds and Trader Joe’s dark chocolate peanut butter cups.

4. He helps me with my garden and built a shade structure for it even though it has never really been successful. AKA he’s supportive even of my failures.

5. He taught us the importance of seeing the world and always took us on great vacations. I haven’t done much international travel, but we spent nearly every summer visiting a new city, everywhere from Seattle to Washington, D.C. These experiences instilled such a sense of exploration in me, and I hope to continue prioritizing travel/movies/magazines/tiny handmade furniture/gardens as an adult and, eventually, a parent.

One thought on “Sending Father’s Day Love from Arizona to Israel

  1. Karen says:

    Wow. Such a beautiful way to send your love 1/2 way around the world. For these and a hundred other reasons…I love you Erin.

Leave a Reply

