Easter 2014: A Little Germany in Arizona

Slide1easter14easter15easter6easter4

Yesterday we celebrated Easter at my parents’ house with a little German feast. My mom and her aunt and cousins made a batch of sauerbraten from an old, treasured family recipe. I’d only ever heard about this famous family meal as something my mom’s grandmother made for special occasions. My mom had never even made the dish before, but thankfully had the help of some visiting Wisconsin relatives with more experience. We even had a German foreign exchange student at our table this year (belonging to the aforementioned Wisconsinites). I’m not sure what he thought of the meal, but my undiscerning American palate thought it was quite delicious.

Easter Menu:

Strawberry, Jicama, Red Onion Salad / Sauerbraten / Potato Dumplings / Red Cabbage / Brown Sugar Beer Carrots / Pretzel Rolls / Carrot Cake / Coconut Cream Pie

easter7easter9easter11 easter12 easter13easter16easter2

I have a feeling the sauerbraten recipe is confidential, but here’s my mom’s equally famous carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake

1 c. brown sugar / 1 c. white sugar / 1 1/4 c. canola oil / 4 eggs / 2 t. vanilla / 2 c. flour / 1 1/2 t. baking soda / 1 1/2 t. baking powder / 1/2 t. salt / 2 t. cinnamon / 1/4 t. nutmeg / 1 c. pureed pineapple / 2-3 c. shredded carrots / 1 c. chopped pecans

Cream Cheese Frosting

1/2 c. soft butter / 8 oz. cream cheese / 3 c. confectioner’s sugar / 1 t. vanilla

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray 2 9-inch cake pans. Mix eggs until frothy and gradually add sugar until thick and light colored (3-4 minutes). Add oil, vanilla, and pineapple, then flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Beat until incorporated. Fold in carrots and pecans. Bake for 25-30 minutes. Cool 10 minutes, then remove from pan and cool completely before frosting. Grate fresh carrot on top.

I hope you all had a happy and tasty Easter!

One thought on “Easter 2014: A Little Germany in Arizona

  1. Karen says:

    Thanks and it was delicious if I do say so myself. I would make a comment on the carrot cake recipe however. I have found that it cooks best when you divide the cake ingredients into 3 cake pans instead of 2. No need to alter the amounts. There is plenty. It cooks more evenly and looks pretty being a triple layer cake!

Leave a Reply

