Make This: Knitted Horse

horse3horse

I was recently commissioned to knit a little stuffed horse for a friend’s mom, and this was the result! I was pretty pleased with how it turned out, and it’s surprisingly simple, so I thought I’d share the pattern. Most three-dimensional patterns require using double-pointed needles, but this one just uses two regular needles, which means people with pretty basic skills could make it. (I’m talking about you, Kaylie.) This little guy is pretty dark because I wanted him to look very natural with browns and blacks. I think it would be cute to make a few in brighter, more non-traditional colors.

27a28a11233fd60c4295890543a0e0e8horse2

I used this pattern, found at examiner.com. I made a few adjustments to the original pattern: I made his mane a little longer and wilder; I didn’t braid his tail but instead unwound some black yarn to match his mane; and I made the ears smaller because I found the originals were too large for some reason. I also embroidered a snout on him with the black yarn and added four little knots for his eyes and nostrils.

Now all I want to do is knit little stuffed animals and give them away as gifts. Who has kids? I might just end up with my own little stash of knitted creatures.

One thought on “Make This: Knitted Horse

Leave a Reply

