Seattle AWP: Part Two

smashyourbrainsawpawptableleguin2

“Smash your brains” – this was a sticker I found on a window inside Pike Place Market while I sat eating 6 million mini-donuts. It also pretty much sums up my weekend at the AWP conference and book fair representing Superstition Review. Yes, the conference was overwhelming in many ways, but it was also a truly inspiring experience. I had to opportunity to meet/see many of my favorite writers, including Sherman Alexie, Chuck Palahnuik, Jess Walter, Gary Snyder, and Ursula Le Guin. (That’s her up there – look how tiny and adorable she is.) What I learned this weekend: I can’t wait to have beautiful, long gray hair so I can look like I totally have life figured out; an open bar is a good way to get a bunch of writers together to dance foolishly; literary journals are really heavy when you’re trying to pack a dozen of them in your little carry-on; don’t buy honey at the market and expect to carry your bag on the plane. If you want to read more about my thoughts on the conference, head to the Superstition Review blog. In short, I’m already looking forward to the 2015 conference in Minneapolis.

seamarketseamarket6seamarket2seamarket3prosciuttomacaronsseamarket7

Sydni and I were also able to sneak back to the market a few times before flying back to the Arizona sun. I’m pretty sure I could live at Pike Place Market. Flowers + delicious food + thoughtful, creative people. That’s all I need.

Leave a Reply

