Our new garden

plantsplants2This weekend, Emily, Tommy, Domenico, and I planted the vegetable garden that I resolved to start earlier this year. I used to plant a little garden at my parents’ house, but we hadn’t done any gardening since moving into our new house last year. It was always a bit of a struggle to keep the plants alive – I would forget general things, you know, like watering them. I’m really going to try not to kill this batch. This year, we used the raised garden bed kit my grandpa bought us for Christmas. It’s a sweet little 4 foot by 4 foot plot we put on the west side of the house. We decided on planting two varieties of tomato, eggplant, basil, rosemary, cilantro, parsley, green onions, and strawberries.

boxdonutsdonuts2We bought donuts from Bosa Donuts for the occasion. Emily and I ended up eating more than our share of donuts while the boys made the box (see figure above of me with a donut in each hand). We did mix the soil and plant the veggies though, so I’d say it was a team effort.

garden2gardengarden4garden3plants3

One thought on “Our new garden

Leave a Reply

