Cheers to 2014

Slide1

It’s pretty daunting to imagine where I’ll be a year from today. If all goes as planned, I’ll be getting ready to graduate with dual degrees. I’ll be knee-deep in a thesis that I haven’t even conceived of yet. I may be getting ready to leave the Phoenix-area, my desert home for the past 18 years, or beginning what adults call a career. I’m a bit overwhelmed at the thought, so I’ve decided to come up with a few simple goals that will help keep me grounded during the next 12 months.

1. Plant a garden. For Christmas, my grandpa bought me a planter box kit. Our backyard is a bit of a project, one that I’m sure won’t be tackled for years, but I’d love to plant a little vegetable garden in the meantime. I even bought some little chalkboard garden stakes (above).

2. Workout. Be more active. As of right now, I live a pretty sedentary life. This resolution doesn’t involve getting a gym membership or training for a 5K; however, I want to add some activity to my life. Simply walking the dog more often, practicing yoga or doing Pilates before bed would be an accomplishment.

3. Read more for pleasure. Last year, I had approximately 340,569,343 books to read for school. While I enjoyed many of them, I didn’t read in the relaxing-on-a-Sunday-morning-with-a-novel-and-a-cup-of-coffee-before-you-have-to-do-real-work kind of way. In 2014, I want reading to be for me.

4. Learn to crochet. I am an avid knitter, but I’ve failed to learn how to crochet. There are so many lovely patterns for crocheters, and I want to use them!

5. Submit a piece of writing for publication. By this, I mean a creative piece. I’ll probably be doing a lot of journalistic writing this year, but I really want to be better about writing creatively. The getting published part isn’t my goal, submitting is. I hope to gain confidence in my own work. It’s pretty terrifying to send your writing out into the world and then receive a rejection email months later (it’s happened to me before), but I’m hoping someone will publish something of mine someday. Right, guys? Right? I think so.

What seems to be missing from this list? Oh yes, blogging. Of course, blogging is a resolution of mine, but it’s more of a life resolution. My new year’s resolutions typically peter out by  mid-February, especially the lifestyle-altering ones. So this year, it’s about simple, achievable goals.

Cheers to you and a beautiful start to 2014!

2 thoughts on “Cheers to 2014

  1. Kaylie says:

    The blog is lovely, just like you.

    I think you can definitely achieve those goals, and I can’t wait to hear what else you achieve in 2014 that you haven’t even dreamt up yet!

Leave a Reply

